A market report tells you what property is worth. A disclosed deal tells you what somebody was willing to advance against it. Between May and September 2026 three of them landed in the UAE and Saudi Arabia, in two currencies and three different kinds of structure, and the number they share is half. That is the most useful single fact about asset-backed finance in private credit this year, and it did not come from a forecast.

What a disclosed deal shows that a market report does not

A quarterly report gives you the weather. Colliers put Dubai apartment and villa prices down 3 per cent between the first and second quarters of 2026, with apartment rents down 4 per cent and villa rents down 2 per cent, against roughly 11,650 homes handed over in the quarter and another 56,600 scheduled before the year ends.1 Accurate, widely quoted, and almost impossible to act on.

A disclosed deal is narrower and harder to argue with. It names one asset, one provider of capital, and one figure that two parties signed. That figure answers the question an owner asks before any other: how much will this property carry?

Where that capital comes from once a bank has done its part is a separate question, and the map already exists: the seven routes that fund UAE property when a bank will not. What follows is narrower. It is about the ceiling those routes stop at, and about who wrote it.

What each disclosure put on the table

Three structures, three countries, one shared number

DealWho provided capitalSizeWhat it fundsDisclosed ceiling
CPI Property Group portfolio, DubaiEmirates NBDAED 367.3 million, about 86 million eurosDeferred payments to developers during 2026 and 2027, on 19 residences of which 15 are under constructionNot disclosed
Retal Heights fund, RiyadhSAB, through SAB InvestSAR 1.9 billion fund, about 507 million dollarsA mixed-use development on a 19,000 square metre site in AlmalqaUp to 50 per cent of total investment value
Off-plan programmes, UAEDubai Islamic Bank, and ADCB with EllingtonPer buyerMilestone payments during construction, up to handoverUp to 50 per cent of property value
Company disclosures and press announcements, May to September 2026. Sizes are as published. A fourth disclosure in the same window, a three-month extension of an existing facility for a Saudi REIT, is left out: an extension on unchanged terms names a date, not a ceiling.

The three disclosures, line by line

In May 2026 CPI Property Group and Emirates NBD executed a facility of AED 367.3 million secured against a portfolio of 19 ultra-luxury residences in Dubai. Fifteen of them are still under construction, spread across Bvlgari The Lighthouse on Jumeirah Bay, Casa Canal and One Canal on the Dubai Water Canal, and Mr. C Residences in Downtown. The facility covers a substantial part of the group's deferred payments to developers during 2026 and 2027, and the stated exit is a phased sale of the units once they are finished.2

Take the names out and it is an ordinary problem at an unusual size. Somebody bought early, owes the developer money on a schedule, and plans to repay by selling once the asset physically exists. That is the same shape as bridge capital between two assets, scaled up and written down.

In June 2026 SAB Invest and Retal launched a CMA-regulated real estate fund of SAR 1.9 billion for the Retal Heights mixed-use project in Riyadh. SAB committed capital of up to 50 per cent of the total investment value.3 Public disclosure of actual gearing inside a Gulf development structure is rare, which is exactly why the number is worth keeping.

The line they share

Both structures that named a ceiling named the same one. SAB committed up to half of total investment value. The two UAE banks that published off-plan programmes over the summer, described in a moment, both stopped at half of property value.

Half, from four directions, inside one summer. That is not a coincidence and it is not a negotiating position.

Where the 50 per cent comes from, and it is not a bank's opinion

It comes from the regulator, in writing, and it has been there since 2013. The Central Bank of the UAE sets the ceilings by category in its Regulations Regarding Mortgage Loans. A UAE national buying a first home worth up to AED 5 million can be advanced up to 85 per cent of the property's assessed value. An expatriate in the same position, up to 80 per cent. For a second or investment property the expatriate ceiling drops to 60 per cent regardless of what the property is worth.4

Then comes the sentence that governs everything sitting on a construction site:

"Given the long term nature of the development process and the higher level of risk to completion, the maximum LTV for mortgages on property being purchased off plans is 50% regardless of purpose, value, or category of purchaser."4

Regardless of purpose, value, or category. Wealth does not move it. Residency does not move it. Buying ten units instead of one does not move it. LTV here is simply the share of the property's assessed value that capital can be set against, and on an unfinished asset the regulator holds that share at half for everybody in the market.

Where the ceiling sits when the asset is not finished

The same buyer, before and after the building exists

Completed property
The asset exists
Ceiling depends on who is buying and why
UAE national, first home under AED 5M
85 per cent
Expatriate, first home under AED 5M
80 per cent
Expatriate, second or investment
60 per cent
Bought off-plan
The asset does not exist yet
One ceiling, and category stops mattering
UAE national, any value
50 per cent
Expatriate, any value
50 per cent
Every other category of purchaser
50 per cent
Central Bank of the UAE, Regulations Regarding Mortgage Loans, Article 3, in force. The regulation caps total capital separately, at seven years of annual income for an expatriate and eight for a UAE national, and holds the debt burden ratio at 50 per cent.

The banks arrived at the same line from the other side

Two of them, within weeks of each other.

Dubai Islamic Bank introduced an off-plan product open to UAE nationals, residents and non-residents that covers up to 50 per cent of a property's value. Money goes to the developer progressively, released as construction milestones are met. During the build the buyer pays only the profit portion, and the full instalment begins at handover or within 24 months of drawdown, whichever comes first.5

ADCB, working with Ellington Properties, published a pre-approval that also reaches 50 per cent on off-plan purchases. It holds for twelve months and can be renewed each year until handover, so a buyer can aim it at milestone payments as they fall due.6

This is a genuine structural change, and how banks moved earlier into the build cycle traced its first half. Bank credit now arrives during construction instead of waiting for the end of it. What has not changed is the size of the ceiling. The banks did not lift the line. They moved to meet it earlier.

Why the ceiling did not move when prices did

The obvious question is why nobody stretched. Dubai spent three years going up, institutional capital is not short, and yet one summer produced four separate confirmations of the same conservative number.

The answer is in the second half of the Colliers reading. Prices eased 3 per cent in the quarter, and 56,600 homes are still scheduled to complete before the year is out.1 For anyone advancing capital against an unfinished unit, that combination changes the question being asked. It is no longer what this is worth today. It is what this can be sold for in six to twelve months, once several thousand near-identical units have also been handed over. A ceiling of half is what that second question produces. What softer prices do to an exit is the same arithmetic seen from the seller's side.

Which leaves the part nobody publishes a programme for. If the regulator caps capital at half of value on an unfinished asset, and the developer's schedule runs on its own dates, the other half is equity and it is due on the developer's calendar rather than the buyer's. For a portfolio the size of CPI's, that gap is covered by a facility against the assets already held. For an individual owner holding one or two units, the same gap usually gets covered by selling something, which is the outcome the whole structure was meant to avoid.

The ceiling is set on the asset, not on the applicant. NEMAX reviews the property, the charges already registered against it and the date the money is needed, then says what it can carry.

See what the asset can carry →

What the disclosures did not say

Being honest about the limits of this evidence matters more than the evidence.

What the disclosures did not say

Sizes are public, terms mostly are not

What was publishedCPI and Emirates NBDRetal Heights fund
Size of the capitalPublishedPublished
What secures itPublishedPublished
Share of value or costNot disclosedPublished, up to 50 per cent
PricingNot disclosedNot disclosed
TermNot disclosedAbout 48 months of development
Covenants and what happens if the exit runs lateNot disclosedNot disclosed
Read from the published announcements. The ceiling is the finding. The cost of standing under it is not, and anyone quoting these deals as evidence about pricing is filling in blanks that were never printed.

Where asset-backed co-financing sits against these numbers

NEMAX Finance is an asset-backed co-financing platform, not a bank and not a lender, and it does not compete for the half a bank will advance against an unfinished unit. It works on the other side of handover, where the asset exists and has a title deed.

The mechanics are deliberately close to what the disclosed deals show, at a size an individual owner can actually use. Capital is set against the property itself through an ADGM SPV, which is simply a separate company that holds the asset, with a first charge registered over it. LTV stays at or below 70 per cent of valuation. The term runs about twelve months, sized to a real exit rather than to a mortgage schedule, with a target of thirty days to closing. The property is what gets measured, not the applicant's file. For the full mechanism, raising capital against your Dubai property walks the route end to end.

The pattern in the three disclosures is the part worth keeping. Serious capital in this market prices the asset, keeps its share conservative, and wants the exit named before it commits. That is not a peculiarity of private credit. It is what the regulator has been writing down since 2013, and what four separate parties confirmed in one summer.

FAQ

What is asset-backed finance in private credit?

Capital advanced against a specific asset rather than against a borrower's income statement, provided by someone other than a bank. The asset is valued, a charge is registered over it, and the amount advanced is a set share of that value. The three deals above are all versions of it at institutional size.

How much can be raised against a Dubai property that is still under construction?

Through a UAE bank, a maximum of 50 per cent of the property's value. The Central Bank sets that ceiling for off-plan purchases and applies it to every category of buyer.4

Why is the off-plan ceiling 50 per cent and not higher?

Because the asset does not exist yet. The regulator's own wording points at the long term nature of the development process and the higher level of risk to completion.4 A part-built unit cannot be valued, sold or repossessed the way a finished one can.

Do the same ceilings apply to non-residents?

For off-plan, yes: the 50 per cent cap is written to cover every category of purchaser. On completed property the picture is different, because bank policy adds a second and lower ceiling on top of the regulator's.

What is developer finance, and is it the same thing?

No. Developer finance is the instalment schedule a developer offers on its own project, secured on the sale contract rather than on a registered charge. The disclosed deals above are capital advanced by a third party against assets already owned.

Where does the other half come from?

Equity, in most cases, on the developer's payment dates. Where the equity is tied up elsewhere it comes from capital raised against property the buyer already holds, which is the route the CPI facility took at portfolio scale.

Work with NEMAX

Find Out What Your Asset Carries

The disclosed deals price the asset and keep the share conservative. NEMAX works the same way, at a size an owner can use: capital set against the property through an ADGM SPV, a first charge registered over it, and LTV at or below 70 per cent. Send the property and the timeline, and NEMAX confirms what the structure supports.

Apply for capital →
*Indicative only, confirmed after valuation and due diligence. For information only, not financial or legal advice, and not an offer or commitment. All co-financing is subject to property review, valuation, due diligence, and legal documentation; final terms depend on the specific property, structure, and risk assessment. NEMAX structures asset-backed co-financing secured by real estate and does not operate as a retail bank.
Sources
  1. Colliers, UAE Real Estate Property Review, Q2 2026, as reported by Khaleej Times: Dubai apartment and villa sale prices down 3 per cent quarter on quarter, apartment rents down 4 per cent, villa rents down 2 per cent, about 11,650 residential units delivered in the quarter and around 56,600 scheduled before the end of 2026. khaleejtimes.com →
  2. CPI Property Group company disclosure, CPI Property Group and Emirates NBD strike financing for CPIPG's ultra-luxury residential portfolio in Dubai, 21 May 2026: AED 367.3 million, about 86 million euros, secured against 19 residences of which 15 are under construction, funding deferred payments during 2026 and 2027, with a phased sale planned after completion. webdisclosure.com →
  3. AGBI, Fund set up to build $500m mixed-use project in Riyadh, June 2026: SAB Invest and Retal launch a CMA-regulated fund of SAR 1.9 billion for Retal Heights, with SAB committing financing of up to 50 per cent of total investment value. agbi.com →
  4. Central Bank of the UAE, Regulations Regarding Mortgage Loans (C 31/2013), Article 3, Important Ratios, in force: maximum ratios by category, the 50 per cent off-plan cap regardless of purpose, value or category of purchaser, a debt burden ratio capped at 50 per cent, a maximum term of 25 years, and a maximum financing amount of seven years of annual income for expatriates and eight for UAE nationals. rulebook.centralbank.ae →
  5. Dubai Islamic Bank off-plan home finance announcement: up to 50 per cent of property value for UAE nationals, residents and non-residents, released to the developer against construction milestones, with the full instalment beginning at handover or within 24 months. zawya.com →
  6. Khaleej Times, Banks roll out easier financing options for off-plan homebuyers in UAE: ADCB with Ellington Properties, pre-approved capital of up to 50 per cent of property value, valid for twelve months and renewable annually until handover. khaleejtimes.com →